Shirley Chisholm

Poster for African American History Month

This week the assignment is a randomly chosen (by drawing) person from a list my teacher got off the internet. Actually he said he spent some time researching. I’m stoked I got Shirley Chisholm. Not only because she was awesome, but also because this picture of her is amazing.

She has a wonderful quote that I wasn’t able to use it in full, but here it is, in all it’s glory:

“When I die, I want to be remembered as a woman who lived in the twentieth century and who dared to be a catalyst for change. I don’t want be remembered as the first black woman who went to Congress, and I don’t even want to be remembered as the first woman who happen to be black to make a bid for the presidency. I want to be remembered as a woman who fought for change in the twentieth century. That’s what I want.”

I wanted to focus on her as a woman, doing my best to respect her eloquent wish. All the time she spent in legislature (1964-82) she said she “had faced much more discrimination because she was a woman than because she was black.”

The fonts used here are DIN 1451 and DIN 30640.

